Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

September 2001

Release Date: September 10, 2001

Brooks Named AEP/WTU Distinguished Prof in Residence at ASU

E.R. "Dick" Brooks, the former chairman and chief executive officer of Central and South West Corporation (CSW), has been named the AEP/West Texas Utilities Distinguished Professor in Residence for the fall semester at Angelo State University.

As the AEP/West Texas Utilities Distinguished Professor, Brooks will serve as guest lecturer in a variety of ASU business classes so that students can learn from his expertise in the utilities sector.

The program was jointly initiated by West Texas Utilities and ASU in 1996. The primary objective of the program is to provide ASU students and faculty special opportunities for expanding and enriching their educational experience and intellectual growth.

Brooks will be on campus Sept. 15-19, Oct. 8-10, 29-31 and Nov. 12-16. During those campus visits he will lecture to classes on utilities industry background, including monopolies, deregulation and mergers; strategic planning; management style; professional and personal profiles; and business ethics.

A native West Texan, Brooks served as chairman and CEO of CSW for nine years until his retirement last year. In that capacity, he served as head of the second largest electric utility provider in the U.S. and oversaw the evolution of the company from a regional electric utility system to a global, market-driven business.

The Dallas-based CSW owns and operates four subsidiary electric utilities companies in the United States, including Southwestern Electric Power Company (SWEPCO) and West Texas Utilities (WTU), serving 1.7 million customers in an area covering 152,000 square miles of Texas, Oklahoma, Louisiana and Arkansas. CSW also services 2 million customers in Southeast England and participates in a number of joint ventures in international energy and telecommunications.

Brooks began his career as an engineer trainee in the Abilene district of WTU in 1961, holding several executive and supervisory positions in the Engineering Department before his promotion to vice president of customer services in 1980. Moving to sister company Central Power and Light in 1982, he advanced through the ranks as senior VP and chief engineering officer before becoming CPL's president and CEO in January 1986.

Brooks moved up to the parent company as executive vice president of electrical operations in 1987. The following year he was named CSW executive vice president as well as president and CEO of Central and South West Services, Inc. Brooks took the reins as chairman and CEO in 1991.

In 1997 CSW announced plans to merge with American Electric Power (AEP) Co., Inc., also one of the largest electric utility companies in the United States. The combined assets and service areas of the two companies created the single largest electricity supplier in the country, supplying power to 4.7 million customers in 11 states.

Brooks earned a B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Texas Tech University in 1961. He is also a graduate of the advanced management training programs at Harvard Business School and the University of Michigan. He was named a Distinguished Engineer by Texas Tech University in 1988 and was recognized as a Texas Tech Distinguished Alumnus in 1993.

Previous AEP/West Texas Utilities Distinguished Professors in Residence have been San Angelo novelist Elmer Kelton, Academy Award-winning actor Karl Malden, renowned physicist Jay Davis and former U.S. Ambassador Edward Rowell.

Members of the AEP/West Texas Utilities Distinguished Professor in Residence Committee include Dr. Sharynn M. Tomlin, chair, Dr. James Holland, Beep Cain, Dr. Virginia M. Noelke and Dr. George E. Shankle, all of ASU, as well as Jamie Rainey, Craig Lennefelt, Mark Baker and David Hawk, all from AEP/West Texas Utilities.

ASU Logo