Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

October 2010

Release Date: Oct. 8, 2010ASU Logo

ASU Alumni Association Names Distinguished Faculty, Staff Honorees

The Angelo State University Alumni Association will recognize five distinguished faculty and two distinguished staff award winners during the annual Wells Fargo Homecoming Dinner on Friday, Oct. 22, in the ASU Houston Harte University Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive.

ASU faculty members Dr. Tom Badgett, R. Kelly Michael, Maria de los Santos Onofre-Madrid, Dr. Steven Snowden and Dr. Roger Zarnowski will receive Distinguished Faculty Achievement Awards for their respective colleges. Shirley Morton and Jo Nell Harlow will receive the Alumni Association’s first-ever Distinguished Staff Achievement Awards.

The evening’s activities are open to the public and will begin with a social gathering at 5:30 p.m. and dinner served at 6:15 p.m. in the University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center. Tickets are $30 each and available from the Alumni Association. Complimentary valet parking and a cash bar will be provided.

Distinguished and Honorary Alumni, Golden Exes and Outstanding Retired Faculty honorees will also be recognized.

For more information and/or tickets to the dinner, call 942-2122 or go online to

Dr. Tom Badgett – College of Business

An ASU faculty member since 1988 and head of the Management and Marketing Department since 1999, Badgett has provided expertise, leadership and administrative oversight to campus groups and committees involved in everything from strategic planning and curriculum changes to resource allocation and candidate searches for upper-level faculty, staff and administrators.

Badgett received his B.B.A. and M.B.A. from Texas Christian University and his doctorate in business administration from Indiana University.

R. Kelly Michael – College of Nursing and Allied Health

Both students and instructors in ASU’s Nursing Department benefit from the innovative teaching methods Michael continually introduces to his classes and colleagues. An assistant clinical professor in the Nursing Department, he also won ASU’s 2010 President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching for his college.

Micheal earned his B.S.N. and M.S.N. from the Medical College of Georgia and is currently studying for his doctorate from the University of Alabama.

Maria de los Santos Onofre-Madrid – College of Liberal and Fine Arts

An ASU faculty member since 1978, Onofre-Madrid is an assistant professor of Spanish in the Modern Languages Department. She has led numerous study abroad trips to Mexico through the ASU Center for International Studies, and will lead another student group to Spain next summer. She is also active in her church and the community, and is a strong role model for Hispanic women.

Onofre-Madrid received her bachelor’s degree from Angelo State and her master’s degree from the University of Texas at Arlington.

Dr. Steven Snowden – College of Education

An associate professor in the Kinesiology Department, Snowden has been an ASU faculty member since 2005. For the past three years, he has also been ASU’s Faculty Athletic Representative to the NCAA, and has served on numerous committees of the ASU Faculty Senate since 2007, including the last two years as secretary.

Snowden holds bachelor’s and doctoral degrees from Texas A&M University and his master’s degree from Sam Houston State University.

Dr. Roger Zarnowski – College of Sciences

A 19-year ASU faculty member, Zarnowski has been instrumental in initiating the Mathematics Department’s new courses and minor in computational and applied mathematics. A firm believer in undergraduate research, he has also mentored numerous students on projects that have gained regional and national recognition.

Zarnowski earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Wichita State University and his doctorate from Indiana University.

Shirley Morton – Distinguished Staff Achievement

Morton has spent 42 years in a variety of staff positions at ASU, most recently as executive assistant to the vice president for strategy, planning and policy. She also sponsored the ASU cheerleaders for 13 years, served 13 years as the secretary-treasurer of the Lone Star Conference and directed the UIL 1-4A regional spring meet at ASU for 21 years.

A former student at San Angelo College, Morton has been inducted into the LSC Hall of Honor and was a 2005 recipient of ASU’s Staff Excellence Award.

Jo Nell Harlow – Distinguished Staff Achievement

Harlow spent six years working in the ASU Admissions Office while earning her business administration degrees. After receiving her master’s degree, she left campus to work for 11 years at GTE (now Verizon) and three years at a local elementary school. But, she never got working with college students out of her system, and returned in 1995 to ASU, where she has been office coordinator for the Mathematics Department ever since.

Harlow earned her B.B.A. and M.B.A. from Angelo State and has twice won ASU Staff Excellence Awards, in 1999 and 2008.

ASU Logo