Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

May 2010

Release Date: May 7, 2010ASU Logo

ASU Greek Awards Banquet Honors Groups, Individuals

Angelo State University fraternities and sororities were recognized for their accomplishments Tuesday, May 5, during the inaugural Greek Awards Banquet in the Houston Harte University Center.

Both group and individual awards were presented during the event. The award winners were chosen by a committee of staff members from the ASU Center for Student Involvement.

Joseph Lopez of the Lambda Chi Alpha fraternity was named Fraternity Member of the Year, Lauren Guthrie of the Delta Zeta sorority was named Sorority Member of the Year, and Sigma Kappa sorority was named Chapter of the Year.

The Most Spirited Chapter Award went to Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity, Most Improved Chapter to Delta Zeta, the Outstanding Community Service Award went to Pi Kappa Alpha, the Outstanding Leadership and Involvement Award went to Sigma Kappa and the Academic Excellence Award went to Delta Zeta.

The Scholastic Improvement honor went to Sigma Kappa, Lambda Chi Alpha and Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity. Greek Scholars were new member Kenneth Lammons of Lambda Chi Alpha and active member April Tipton-McDougal of Delta Zeta.

Rick McKinney, Pi Kappa Alpha community adviser, was named Chapter Adviser of the Year; Dr. Robin Runia, assistant professor of English, nominated by Sigma Kappa, was named Faculty Member of the Year; Allen Walker of Lambda Chi Alpha was named New Fraternity Member of the Year; Mackenzie Darling of Sigma Kappa was named New Sorority Member of the Year; and Andrea Dawson of Sigma Kappa was named President of the Year.

Delta Zeta and Sigma Kappa honored Jennifer Johnson, ASU coordinator for Greek life and community service, for her efforts on behalf of the Greek organizations on campus.

For more information, contact the Center for Student Involvement at 942-2062.

ASU Logo