Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

March 2010

Release Date: March 30, 2010ASU Logo

ASU Students Place in 14 Categories at Media Convention

Staff members of Angelo State University’s Ram Page student newspaper and Ram TV student television program placed in 14 categories at the 2010 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention March 27 in Kerrville.

Capturing first places were Jason Hook for a photo illustration on handguns, Sara Irvin for a news feature story about a rape victim and Kimberly Parker for a sports action photo of men’s basketball.

Second place for a picture story on Homecoming went to Scott Dykowski, Tim Lester and Parker. Lara Johnson and Michael Whitson placed second for a headline and Parker also placed second for a sports feature photo. Derek Smith placed third for a news photo.

The Ram Page received an honorable mention for overall excellence while Michael Whitson received honorable mentions for a sports news story, sports page design, a sports feature story and a sports column.

Ram TV editor Nathan Miller placed second for a television spot/public service announcement/promo commercial. Receiving honorable mentions were Ram TV editor Eric Henrickson and host Isabel Carrillo for a television public affairs program on Native Americans.

The Ram Page editor-in-chief is Leah Waters, Dr. Cathy Johnson is the Ram Page adviser and Leah B. Mangrum, assistant professor of communication, directs Ram TV.

For more information, call the Communication, Mass Media and Theatre Department at 942-2031.

ASU Logo