Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

June 2010

Release Date: June 3, 2010ASU Logo

ASU Students Awarded State Space Scholarships

Angelo State University mathematics major Sheryl Stultz and physics major Dawn Skeen have been awarded prestigious Columbia Crew Memorial Undergraduate Scholarships by the Texas Space Grant Consortium (TSGC) for the 2010-11 academic year.

Stultz, a senior from San Angelo, and Skeen, a junior from Brady, will each receive $1,000 from the TSGC. Only 30 students from Texas institutions receive the scholarships each year. This is the fourth consecutive year that at least one ASU student has been awarded a scholarship.

The scholarships recognize high-quality students and encourage their consideration of graduate studies in science, technology, engineering and mathematics that will ultimately lead to careers in space-related fields. They also stress excellence in academics, participation in space education projects, participation in research projects and exhibited leadership qualities.

The scholarship program was established by the TSGC and the Aviation and Space Foundation of Texas in partnership with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in memory of the seven Space Shuttle Columbia astronauts who were killed during shuttle re-entry on Feb. 1, 2003.

ASU Logo