Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2010

Release Date: April 20, 2010ASU Logo

ASU Carr Research Scholars to be Honored at Symposium

Angelo State University students who have completed projects funded by Carr Research Scholarships and those being awarded scholarships for future research will be honored at the Carr Student Research Scholar Symposium Tuesday, April 27, in the Houston Harte University Center.

The symposium will begin at 12:15 p.m. April 27 with a luncheon in the University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center for the honorees, their parents and their faculty advisers. The research posters produced by the six graduate and nine undergraduate students who have completed their projects will be on display in the University Center spine from 1:30-3:30 p.m. The poster display is open free to the public.

Students displaying posters will be, by department, Kristopher C. Ede, agriculture; Jordan P. Cox, curriculum and instruction; Rigel K. Rilling, biology; Katy A. Gaddis, psychology, sociology and social work; Jerri B. McDonald, English; Deidra A. Dallas, English; Kunal Bhatnagar, physics; Sagan A. Everett, physical therapy; Bobby Logan Hancock, physics; Stacy L. Lee, mathematics; Juan A. Olvera, physics; Kaci N. Pruser, chemistry and biochemistry; William G. Register, chemistry and biochemistry; Courtney N. Snow, physical therapy; and T. Marie Tipps, biology.

Undergraduate students receiving 2010-11 scholarships will be Travis S. Barnett, Elizabeth J. Black, Yolanda F. Elias, Kaleb J. Gilbert, Kelly S. Gross, Ethan D. Gully, Austin B. Osmanski, William G. Register, Sebastian A. Requena, Victor P. Siller and Dara C. White.

Graduate students receiving 2010-11 scholarships will be Tyler J. Cochran, Hollie L. Laqua, Krislyn G. McWilliams, Christopher E. Pomposelli, T. Marie Tipps and Erin M. Whitford.

The Carr Student Research Scholarship Program, initiated during the 1993-94 academic year, provides funds for undergraduate and graduate research projects conducted by ASU students in all fields of study. Student proposals are submitted to individual academic departments for screening. A campus-wide evaluation committee reviews the proposals and makes award recommendations to the president of the university. Students who successfully complete research projects and fulfill the other requirements of the program are designated as Carr Research Fellows.

ASU Logo