Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

September 2009

Release Date: Sept. 15, 2009ASU Logo

ASU Physics Student Organization Wins National Outreach Award

The national Society of Physics Students (SPS) has named Angelo State University’s SPS chapter one of only five in the nation to receive a 2009 Blake Lilly Prize for outstanding physics outreach.

The ASU group was honored for its annual “West Texas Road Trip” program presented by its SPS Peer Pressure Team. Every spring, team members design, construct and present a variety of exciting physics demonstrations to elementary and middle school students in school districts throughout West Central Texas. This is the second time that program has been honored with a Lilly Prize, having won its first one in 2007.

Since the first Road Trip in 2006, the Peer Pressure Team has made presentations to nearly 5,000 elementary and middle school students, teachers and parents. The ASU group is advised by Dr. Toni Sauncy, associate professor of physics and president of the national SPS Council. This year’s award application was written by Lacy Estes, who graduated in May with a physics degree and is a former SPS secretary.

For winning the Lilly Prize, Angelo State’s SPS will receive a three-volume set of the Feynman Lectures on Physics, a groundbreaking physics text by Richard Feynman, 1965 Nobel Prize winner in physics. The text includes lectures on mathematics, electromagnetism, Newtonian physics, quantum physics and the relation of physics to the other sciences. The set will be placed in the SPS Lounge in the Vincent Nursing-Physical Science Building.

The Blake Lilly Prize has been awarded since 2003 in recognition of SPS chapters and individuals who make a genuine effort to positively influence the attitudes of school children and the general public about physics. This year’s other winners were Brigham Young University, Juanita College (Pa.), Ohio Wesleyan University and the College of Wooster.

ASU Logo