Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

October 2009

Release Date: Oct. 13, 2009ASU Logo

ASU Carr Foundation Director Named to TIPRO Sunset Task Force

Wana Dee Box, director of operations for the Carr Foundation at Angelo State University, has been appointed to the Sunset Task Force of the Texas Independent Producers and Royalty Owners Association (TIPRO).

The task force will begin work immediately, with its first meeting Tuesday, Oct. 13, in Austin. Its mandate from the Texas Legislature is an intensive review of various state environmental agencies and their functions. The agencies include the Texas Railroad Commission (RRC), Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Texas Public Utilities Commission and the Texas Water Development Board, among others.

According to TIPRO President Tad Mayfield, “This presents a great opportunity for TIPRO to offer suggestions for improvements in the RRC’s functions, administration and operations. This task force will gather the initial information regarding changes and suggestions for the RRC and other agencies, and begin policy discussions within the TIRPO membership. It will provide analysis and a report for further consideration by TIPRO’s State Issues Committee and, ultimately, its board.”

Box has been with the ASU Carr Foundation since 1982 and has an extensive background in ranching and real estate. She is currently a director and the treasurer of the Texas division of the National Association of Royalty Owners (NARO-Texas). She is a past-president of NARO and NARO-Texas and previously served on the Railroad Commission’s Rules and Regulations Review Committee. She works closely with her assistant director, Candice Upton Brewer, who is president of NARO-Texas and serves on the national NARO board.

Box’s office manages the mineral and royalty interests owned by the Carr Foundation in 16 West Texas counties. The interests were bequeathed by the late Robert G. and Nona K. Carr to form the foundation for the use by and benefit of ASU.

TIPRO was founded in 1946 by Texas wildcatters and has grown into the largest statewide association of its kind. It continues to serve the interests of independent producers and royalty owners.

ASU Logo