Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

March 2009

Release Date: March 16, 2009ASU Logo

ASU Biology Honor Society Grabs Top National Award

For a record sixth time, Angelo State University’s Epsilon Sigma chapter of the Beta Beta Beta (Tri-Beta) Biology Honor Society has been named the recipient of the Lloyd M. Bertholf Award as the top chapter in the nation for the 2007-08 academic year.

The ASU chapter is the first six-time winner of the award out of the more than 510 chapters in the U.S. and Puerto Rico. No other chapter has won the award more than four times. The award will be presented during the South Central Regional Convention April 4-6 at the Oklahoma University Biological Field Station in Kingston, Okla. The runner-up for this year’s award was Hastings College (Neb.), with College of New Jersey finishing third.

“Our Tri-Beta group recently hosted a surprise celebration for me that recognized my 30 years as faculty advisor of the ASU chapter,” said Dr. Crosby Jones, professor of biology. “Winning the Bertholf Award in the same year confirms to me that my decision, made many years ago, to accept the chapter's invitation to be its advisor in exchange for a promise from the members that they would work hard to achieve excellence, was the right one for me. I'm as proud of them for winning this award as I was when they won the first one.”

The Bertholf Award has been presented since 1961 based on chapter activity in conducting and publishing research, participation in district and national conventions and other scientific meetings, chapter programming and activities, and orderly record keeping and communication with the National Office. The winning chapter is chosen each year by a selection committee of college biology faculty from across the nation.

The Beta Beta Beta organization emphasizes undergraduate research and scholarship in the biological sciences. Its national office is located at the University of North Alabama in Florence. ASU’s Epsilon Sigma chapter was formed in 1970. ASU chapter president is senior biology major Jason Strickland of Seminole.

ASU Logo