Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

January 2009

Release Date: Jan. 20, 2009ASU Logo

ASU Writers Conference to Feature Noted Poet

Award-winning poet Terrance Hayes will be the featured presenter at Angelo State University’s 13th Annual Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton, Thursday and Friday, Feb. 19-20.

The conference, which is open free to the public, will be held in the Houston Harte University Center’s C.J. Davidson Conference Center, 1910 Rosemont Drive. The focus of the conference is fiction, poetry and nonfiction readings.

Sessions begin Thursday at 9:30 a.m. and Friday at 9 a.m. The Terrance Hayes interview will be held Thursday at 3:30 p.m. Other highlights of the conference will be a presentation Thursday at 7 p.m., by Elmer Kelton and Hayes’ keynote address Friday at 7 p.m. A reception and book signing will follow each presentation, and both authors’ books will be available for purchase at the receptions.

Other authors whose works will be presented during the conference include Larry Thomas, Anne McCrady, Michael Gullickson, Terri Tucker, Carol Reposa, Alan Birkelback, Joyce Gullickson, Doug Goetsch, Elizabeth Raby, Juan Perez, Clarence Wolfshohl, Brandy Ramirez, Alan Bereka, Dana Glossbrenner, Steven Schroeder, Jerry Hamby, Jessica Daigle, Chuck Taylor and Teri McGrath.

Hayes has published three collections of poetry and has won numerous awards. His first collection, “Muscular Music,” won the Kate Tufts Discovery Award and “Hip Logic” was a National Poetry Series selection. He has also received a Whiting Writers Award, a Best American Poetry selection, a Pushcart Prize and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship. Hayes is an associate professor of creative writing at Carnegie Mellon University.

Cornelius Eady, director of the creative writing program at the University of Notre Dame, said of Hayes’ work, “First, you’ll marvel at his skill, his near-perfect pitch, his disarming humor, his brilliant turns of phrase. Then, you’ll notice the grace, the tenderness, the unblinking truth-telling just beneath his lines, the open and generous way he takes in our world.”

Kelton has written more than 40 books, including “The Time it Never Rained,” “The Man Who Rode Midnight” and “The Good Old Boys.” He is a seven-time winner of the Western Writers of America’s (WWA) Spur Award and the WWA recently named him the “all-time best western author.”

The acclaimed western writer is the first Distinguished Visiting Professor at ASU. He has also received the Distinguished Achievement Award from the Western Literature Association and the Barbara McCombs/Lon Tinkle Award from the Texas Institute of Letters.

The ASU English Department hosts the conference, which is sponsored by the university. It is funded in part by College Bookstores of America, the ASU Alumni Center, the College of Liberal and Fine Arts, the English Department, and Guy and Eva Choate.

For more information, contact Dr. Mary Ellen Hartje at 942-2269, Ext. 230, or visit the conference Web site.

ASU Logo