Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

August 2009

Release Date: Aug. 5, 2009ASU Logo

More Angelo State ROTC Cadets Earn National Scholarships

Three cadets from Angelo State University’s Air Force ROTC Det. 847 have been awarded national scholarships during Phase Two of selections for the U.S. Air Force ROTC In-College Scholarship Program (ICSP).

ASU junior Juan Torres and sophomore Aaron Dearick will each receive a Type 3 Scholarship worth $9,000 per year for the remainder of their time at ASU. Junior James Huggins will receive a Type 6 Scholarship worth $3,000 per year. Each will also receive $900 annually for textbooks and a monthly stipend. The ASU cadets are three of just 261 cadets earning Phase Two Scholarships out of more than 1,000 nominees from the 144 ROTC detachments in the U.S.

To be eligible for the ICSP scholarships, cadets must have at least a 2.5 GPA, pass the Air Force fitness test, meet weight standards and pass the Air Force Officer Qualifying Test (AFOQT). They also must not have already received a national scholarship from the Air Force.

This is the third round of major scholarships awarded to Angelo State ROTC cadets this year, bringing the total number of awardees to eight. In April, freshman Chaz Hobgood and sophomore Christina Rangel were each Phase One selections for ICSP scholarships. In January, Commander’s Leadership Scholarships were awarded to freshman Andrew Schurman and sophomores Sascha Johnson and Jonathan Avera.

ASU Logo