Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2009

Release Date: April 23, 2009ASU Logo

ASU Carr Research Students to be Honored at Symposium

Angelo State University students who have completed projects funded by Carr Research Scholarships and those being awarded scholarships for future research will be honored at the Carr Student Research Scholar Symposium Tuesday, April 28, in the Houston Harte University Center.

The symposium will begin at 12:15 p.m. April 28 with a luncheon in the University Center’s Nasworthy Suite for the honorees, their parents and their faculty advisers. The research posters produced by the two graduate and 13 undergraduate students who have completed their projects will be on display in the University Center spine from 1:30-3:30 p.m. The poster display is open free to the public.

Students displaying posters will be, by department, Jared G. Bird, chemistry and biochemistry; Wesley A. Brashear, biology; Raj Kiran Chawla, biology; Aaron S. Guthrie, chemistry and biochemistry; Heather N. Guthrie, government; Robert J. Heischman, biology; Jennifer K. Hendryx, physics; Jessica A. LaMirand, history; Allison G. McMahon, physics; Denis Myasishchev, physics; Henry F. Schreiner III, physics; Jason L. Strickland, biology; Karianne Thomas, physics; Richard W. Dolman, biology; and Danyelle N. Lee, biology.

Undergraduate students receiving 2009-10 scholarships will be Kunal Bhatnager, Sagan Anne Everett, Bobby Logan Hancock, Stacy Lynn Lee, Juan Antonio Olvera, Kaci Noell Pruser, William Garrett Register, Courtney Nicole Snow and Teresita Marie Tipps.

Graduate students receiving 2009-10 scholarships will be Jordan Phillip Cox, Deidra A. Dallas, Kristopher Clay Ede, Katy Amanda Gaddis, Jerri Brianna McDonald and Rigel Keith Rilling.

The Carr Student Research Scholarship Program, initiated during the 1993-94 academic year, provides funds for undergraduate and graduate research projects conducted by ASU students in all fields of study. Student proposals are submitted to individual academic departments for screening. A campus-wide evaluation committee reviews the proposals and makes award recommendations to the president of the university. Students who successfully complete research projects and fulfill the other requirements of the program are designated as Carr Research Fellows.

ASU Logo