Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2009

Release Date: April 8, 2009ASU Logo

Angelo State ROTC Cadets Earn National Scholarships

Two cadets from Angelo State University’s Air Force ROTC Det. 847 have been awarded scholarships through the U.S. Air Force ROTC In-College Scholarship Program (ICSP) that will pay for the remainder of their ASU educations.

Freshman Chaz O. Hobgood, an animal science major from Lubbock, and sophomore Christina I. Rangel, a criminal justice major from San Angelo, are two of just 234 cadets earning the scholarships out of almost 1,300 nominees from the 144 ROTC detachments in the U.S. Each will receive annual tuition and fee payments up to $18,000, $900 yearly for books and a $300-$500 monthly stipend.

To be eligible for the ICSP Scholarships, cadets must have at least a 2.5 GPA, pass the Air Force fitness test, meet weight standards and pass the Air Force Officer Qualifying Test (AFOQT). They also must not have already received a national scholarship from the Air Force.

The scholarships are awarded by the respective detachment commanders with approval from Headquarters, Air Force ROTC. Another round of awards will be announced in June.

This is the second round of major scholarships awarded to Angelo State ROTC cadets this spring. In January, Commander’s Leadership Scholarships were awarded to freshman Andrew B. Schurman, a sociology major from Abilene, sophomore Sascha A. Johnson, a management major from Copperas Cove, and sophomore Jonathan W. Avera, a management major from Burleson.

The qualifying criteria and benefits for the Commander’s Leadership Scholarships are the same as those for the ICSP awards. They are awarded once a year at the detachment commander’s discretion to cadets who have demonstrated outstanding performance through their leadership skills and their duties within the corps.

Four of ASU’s six junior cadets and two of its four seniors are also on national ROTC scholarships.

ASU Logo