Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

August 2006

Release Date: August 30, 2006

Court TV's Crier to Deliver Humanities Lecture at ASU

Award-winning television journalist Catherine Crier will offer her unique perspective on the domestic and international issues of our time when she delivers the Community Lectureship in the Humanities Thursday, Sept. 28, at Angelo State University.

The lecture will begin at 7 p.m. Sept 28 in the C.J. Davidson Conference Center in the Houston Harte University Center on the ASU campus.  The lecture, jointly sponsored by the San Angelo Community Medical Center and the San Angelo Health Foundation in conjunction with ASU, is open free to the public.

Through her varied journalistic and legal experience, Crier, who is the host of Catherine Crier Live on Court TV, is able to put current events in their historical context and to provide the political analysis necessary to better understand the present and where the future may lead.

The Community Lectureship in the Humanities is sponsored annually to bring distinguished speakers of national prominence to West Texas.  In addition to the public lecture, the speakers also visit with ASU students and faculty as well as community leaders.

A Dallas native, Crier earned her bachelor's degree in political science and international affairs from the University of Texas and then received her law degree from SMU.  Her legal career included stints as an assistant district attorney in Dallas County, a civil litigation attorney and a state district judge, the youngest ever elected in the State of Texas.

She began her television career at CNN before moving to ABC's World News Tonight as a correspondent.  She then worked for Fox News before joining Court TV, where she was able to combine both her legal and journalistic expertise.

On Court TV Crier has built a significant body of work as host of her own show as well as the lead on a variety of news specials on legal topics and the host on Court TV's signature prime-time series, The System.  "The Interrogation of Michael Crowe," a documentary on The System, was recently recognized with a duPont-Columbia Award, the broadcast journalism equivalent of a Pulitzer Prize.

A Catherine Crier Live special, "Grandmothers: Voices from Oklahoma City," won the Foundation for American Women in Radio and Television's Gracie Allen award in April 2002.  In June 2003, Crier received the Gracie Allen award for Outstanding Program Host.  Crier was awarded a 1996 Emmy for outstanding investigative journalism for her work on the segment "The Predators," which examined nursing home abuses throughout the United States.

Crier is the author of four books on legal topics, including New York Times bestseller The Case Against Lawyers in 2002.  Last year she released A Deadly Game:  The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation and Contempt:  How the Right is Wronging American Justice.  Earlier this year she published The Boys Behind the Bench.

Each year, San Angelo Community Medical Center and San Angelo Health Foundation underwrite the expense of bringing a distinguished speaker of national prominence to ASU for a public lecture, interaction with students and informal discussions with community leaders.

The Community Lectureship in the Humanities exposes the university and community to distinguished men and women whose nationally and internationally recognized work has elevated the human spirit and consciousness, particularly in the humanities.  Lecturers might include statesmen, public servants, academicians, writers, philosophers, humanitarians, philanthropists and individuals interested in health care.

Past lecturers include Rick Bass, Dr. Ramon Eduardo Ruiz, Sergei N. Khruschev, Warren B. Rudman, John Wheat, Lloyd M. Bentsen, Shelby Foote, Margaret Thatcher, James H. Billington, Elspeth Rostow, Larry McMurtry, Richard Wilbur, Robert Legvold, Barry McCaffrey and Richard Haass.

A nine-member selection committee representing ASU, Community Medical Center and the San Angelo Health Foundation chooses the speaker annually.  Members of the 2006 Selection Committee are Dr. Kevin Lambert, chair; Marilyn Aboussie; Dr. Sterling Gillis; David Lupton; Dr. Linda Kornasky; Richey Oliver; Sheryl Pfluger; Steve Stephens; and Pat Turner.

ASU Logo