Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

August 2006

Release Date: August 1, 2006

Committee Outlines Criteria Sought in ASU Presidential Search

The Presidential Search Committee appointed by The Texas State University System (TSUS) has released the criteria sought for the next president of Angelo State University.  This committee will recommend from three to five finalists as potential successors to current President James Hindman, who will return to teaching full-time in the fall of 2007.

Requirements for applicants include "an earned doctorate and a significant record of academic, administrative and fiscal experience."

The successful applicant must also be a visionary leader with a proven record for increasing student enrollment and retention as well as significant fundraising experience.

Attributes sought in the new leader include an ability to build consensus among all university stakeholders; success in governmental relations; commitment to enhancing student campus life; an appreciation for intercollegiate athletics; and skills as a leader, mentor and communicator.

Applications will be advertised and solicited nationally through The Chronicle of Higher Education and through nominations from the public. The committee will begin its review of applications in October with the goal of having a presidential successor named by June 1, 2007.

The search committee is charged with developing the job description, advertising the position, reviewing applications, organizing the comprehensive interview process and providing feedback to TSUS Chancellor Charles R. Matthews and the Board of Regents.

The committee is chaired by Regent John E. Dudley of Comanche. Two other regents serve on the committee:  Dionicio "Don" Flores of El Paso and Pollyanna A. Stephens of San Angelo. Campus representatives are Nancy G. Allen, Mandy A. Carr, Maurice G. Fortin, S. Murat Kara, Flor L. Madero, John J. Miazga and student Alicia Henry with Alex Yarbrough as student alternate. Community representatives are Nathaniel "Hank" Hankins, Sandra Hawkins Gray and Fred Hernandez, all of San Angelo, and Mario Castillo of Washington, D.C.

ASU Logo