Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

April 2006

Release Date: April 26, 2006

ASU Presidential Award, Distinguished Student Awards Announced for 2006

Eddie Frank "Trey" Holik, III, and Holly Elsbeth Scott have been named co-recipients of Angelo State University's 2006 Presidential Award while four other ASU students have been selected for 2006 Distinguished Student Awards from their respective colleges.

Holik of Veribest and Scott of Ranger will be recognized at ASU's May 13 commencement exercises along with the four Distinguished Student Award honorees representing each ASU college. The Distinguished Student Award recipients are : David Allen Watson of San Angelo, College of Business; Sherry Gail Gardner of San Angelo, College of Education; Calinda C. Shely of San Angelo, College of Liberal and Fine Arts; and Lori Nicole Loomis of Eldorado, College of Sciences.

The award recipients will be honored during a public reception at 1:30 p.m. Monday, May 1, in the University Center Theater in the Houston Harte University Center. ASU President James Hindman will present plaques to the winners and nominees. Recipients are selected from nominees by each academic department and are chosen for the honors on the basis of outstanding academic performance and accomplishments in extracurricular and service activities. One student is selected from each college for the Distinguished Student Award.

Holik, a double major in applied physics and mathematics, was nominated by the Departments of Physics and Mathematics. The recipient of several ASU scholarships, Holik was inducted into Alpha Chi National Honor Society, Sigma Pi Sigma Physics Honor Society and Pi Mu Epsilon Mathematics Honor Society. He presented a paper on research funded by a Carr Student Research Grant at the 2006 Texas Society of Physics Students conference. He was selected to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Holik is an active member of the Society of Physics Students, American Physical Society, Baptist Student Ministry, Student Senate and ASU intramural sports programs. He worked as a programmer for Information Technology at ASU. Holik will enter the graduate program in physics at Texas A&M University. He plans to pursue a Ph.D. and a career in research and university teaching.

Scott, the Biology Department nominee, is a biology major with a chemistry minor. The recipient of two ASU scholarships, she was inducted into Alpha Chi National Honor Society and Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society. She is an active member of Sigma Phi Lambda, American Chemical Society and Baptist Student Ministry. While at ASU, Scott served as a tutor for both biology and organic chemistry and worked as a microbiology lab assistant. She was included in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Scott presented an undergraduate research paper, co-authored with fellow student Betty Murray, to the regional meeting of Beta Beta Beta Biological Honor Society. She also co-authored a research grant proposal funded through the Beta Beta Beta Foundation. Scott will attend the University of Texas Medical Branch in Galveston in preparation for a career as a pediatrician.

Nominated by the Department of Accounting, Economics and Finance, Watson is an accounting major. While attending ASU, he operated a small business with his father while raising four children. He received a Carr Academic Scholarship and the Wells Fargo Scholarship and earned membership in Alpha Chi National Honor Society. He was an active member of the Finance and Real Estate Organization and an avid supporter of various public school activities involving his children. Watson plans to pursue a graduate degree in accounting at ASU.

Gardner , nominated by the Department of Teacher Education, is an interdisciplinary child development and learning major. A Carr Academic Scholarship recipient and mother of two daughters, she worked part-time as a pre-school teacher at PaulAnn Baptist Church. She was inducted into Alpha Chi and Kappa Delta Pi national honor societies. Gardner mentored students through the Helping One Student to Succeed program and participated in the ASU Student Reading Council. She plans to pursue a career as an elementary school teacher and to continue graduate studies to earn certification as a diagnostician.

Nominated by the English Department, Shely is a double major in English and sociology as well as an Honors Program graduate and recipient of several scholarships. She earned membership in Alpha Chi, Sigma Tau Delta and Pi Gamma Mu national honor societies. She was president of the Honors Student Association and was included in Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. Shely was a peer tutor in the ASU Writing Center and a mentor in the ASU Honors Program. She presented findings from her research at the Great Plains Honors Convention and the Texas Honors Convention. Shely will enter ASU's master of arts program in English this fall.

Loomis, nominated by the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, is a biochemistry major and a graduate of the ASU Honors Program. Recipient of multiple ASU scholarships, Loomis earned induction into Alpha Chi National Honor Society and selection to Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. She was an active member of the American Chemical Society and president of the Honors Student Association. She presented her research at the 2006 American Chemical Society national meeting and was named Honors Student of the Year for 2004-05. She will enter the Ph.D. program at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center to pursue a career in pharmaceutical or medical research.

Other departmental nominees were Rachel Bell of history; Megan Hester of communication, drama and journalism; Trent Joseph of kinesiology; and Julie Means of computer science.

ASU Logo