Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Department of Social Work

Search Site

Information for:

Social Work Community Advisory Committee

Committee Description

The Community Advisory Committee consists of representatives of the San Angelo area community and the Angelo State University campus to:

  • Enlist the input, feedback and support of knowledgeable professional social workers to enhance the direction and quality of the ASU social work program.
  • Review components of the social work program.
  • Provide feedback and suggestions based on:
    • Understanding of the program
    • Needs of the community
    • Experience with graduates and current students

Eligibility Requirements

Must be a licensed social worker in the community.

Voting Members

Courtney Bingham

Mike Childress
West Texas Boys Ranch

Jennifer Dube
Children’s  Advocacy

Melissa Hernandez
Open Arms

Roxann Sloan
Crisis Intervention Unit

Non-Voting (Permanent) Members

  • Concho Valley branch chair, National Association of Social Workers/Texas
  • Region 9 director, National Association of Social Workers/ Texas
  • Social work faculty
  • Vice president of the Student Social Work Association
    Rudi Tarango


Adapted with permission from the Texas Tech University Social Work Program Sept. 14, 2010.

Contact us

Contact the Social Work Community Advisory Committee by emailing us at:

Suggestions, Comments and concerns

Use this form to submit any suggestions, comments or concerns to the Social Work Community Advisory Committee. 

text field
required email address field
required textarea field
ASU Logo