Skip Navigation
Angelo State University
Department of English and Modern Languages

Search Site

Information for:

24th Annual ASU Writers Conference

March 5-6, 2020

Featured writer: Laila Lalami

Laila Lalami Laila Lalami was born in Rabat and educated in Morocco, Great Britain, and the United States. She is the author of the novels Hope and Other Dangerous Pursuits, which was a finalist for the Oregon Book Award; Secret Son, which was on the Orange Prize longlist; and The Moor’s Account, which won the American Book Award, the Arab American Book Award, and the Hurston/Wright Legacy Award. It was on the Man Booker Prize longlist and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. Her essays and opinion pieces have appeared in the Los Angeles Times, the Washington PostThe NationHarper’s, the Guardian, and the New York Times. The recipient of a British Council Fellowship, a Fulbright Fellowship, and a Guggenheim Fellowship, she is currently a professor of creative writing at the University of California at Riverside. Her new novel, The Other Americans, was published by Pantheon in March 2019. 

For more information about the author, visit the Laila Lalami web site

24th Annual Writers Conference in honor of elmer kelton

The 24th annual ASU Writers Conference featuring Laila Lalami will bring together old friends and new for a celebration highlighting the achievements of San Angelo’s own Elmer Kelton.

All sessions will take place on the Angelo State University campus.

The conference is free and open to the public.

For more information contact
Chris Ellery at 
or by phone at 325-486-6142.

Conference Program


Help support and enhance the Writers Conference in Honor of Elmer Kelton with a tax deductible gift to its endowment. 

Contact the Angelo State University Office of Development for more information at 325-942-2116 or

Featured Writers

  • 2019 Chitra Divakaruni
  • 2018 Brian Turner
  • 2017 Anne Hillerman
  • 2016 Craig Johnson
  • 2015 Dan Chaon
  • 2014 Juan Felipe Herrera
  • 2013 Christina Garcia
  • 2012 Leslie Marmon Silko
  • 2011 Art Spiegelman
  • 2010 Mary Karr    
  • 2009 Terrance Hayes
  • 2008 Luis Valdez
  • 2007 Tobias Wolff
  • 2006 Tim O’Brien
  • 2005 Gordon Weaver
  • 2004 Peter Hedges
  • 2003 Naomi Shihab Nye
  • 2002 Stephen Harrigan
  • 2001 Reginald McKnight
  • 2000 Denise Chavez
  • 1999 W.P. Kinsella
  • 1998 Rudolfo Anaya
  • 1997 Elmer Kelton
ASU Logo