Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

2020 Outstanding Graduate Students

June 10, 2020

The Angelo State University College of Graduate Studies and Research has announced ASU’s 2020 Outstanding Graduate Students, as well as the recipients of four new superlative awards.

Each of the honorees was nominated by faculty in their respective academic departments.

The Outstanding Graduate Students for the College of Arts and Humanities, listed by their hometown and major:

  • Leonor Constancio of San Angelo, communication
  • Brett Lane of San Antonio, global security studies
  • Alison Dinong of Vail, Ariz., intelligence and analysis
  • Lydia Nixon of Albany, N.Y., English

Norris-Vincent College of Business honorees:

  • Izmael Carranco of San Angelo, professional accountancy
  • Evan List of Edgewood, Ken., business administration

Honorees for the College of Education:

  • Colleen Vigil of San Angelo, curriculum and instruction
  • Yvonne Goldman of Angleton, educational administration
  • Mark Wilson of Conroe, guidance and counseling
  • Chance Webb of Levelland, student development and leadership in higher education
  • Belinda Valles of San Angelo, educational leadership

Archer College of Health and Human Services honorees:

  • Jaclyn Abbey of Brackett, coaching, sport, recreation and fitness administration
  • Stephanie Williams of San Angelo, nurse educator
  • MaryClare Porter of Harper, family nurse practitioner
  • Sydney Young of Austin, physical therapy
  • Joseph Conger of San Antonio, applied psychology
  • Brittany Schroeder of San Angelo, counseling psychology
  • Lacey Voth of El Paso, experimental psychology
  • Deric Valdez of San Angelo, social work

The honoree for the College of Science and Engineering:

  • Imelda Arzate of Denver City, animal science

Additionally, winners of the four new superlative awards were selected from among the Outstanding Graduate Students by a separate committee.

The superlative awards recipients:

  • Imelda Arzate – Academic Excellence
  • Brett Lane – Community Service Excellence
  • Mark Wilson – Leadership Excellence
  • Sydney Young – Research Excellence

These awards are normally announced during the annual Graduate Research Symposium and Awards Ceremony, but the event had to be cancelled this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Each of the winners was mailed a certificate of recognition.


College of Graduate Studies and Research
ASU Logo