Skip Navigation
Angelo State University

Search Site

Information for:

Alpha Chi Honor Society Spring 2020 Inductees

April 21, 2020

Angelo State University’s chapter of the Alpha Chi national honor society has inducted 18 new members for the spring 2020 semester, despite not being able to conduct an on-campus induction ceremony.

Alpha Chi honor cord that members wear at graduation Alpha Chi honor cord that members wear at graduationAlpha Chi is one of the nation’s most prestigious honor societies and is open to students majoring in any academic discipline. To be eligible, students must rank in the top 10 percent of graduate students or seniors at their college or university, or in the top 7.5 percent of juniors.

ASU’s spring 2020 inductees by hometown and major are:

San Angelo:  Daniel Dixon, finance; Alexia Guerra, biology; Aidan Henry, chemistry; Kanton Hoelscher, health science professions; Crystal Mendez, Spanish with teacher certification; Hannah Powers, nursing; and Martin Zapata, intelligence and analysis

Austin: Lindsay Krabbenhoft, biology

Bronte: Orville Davis, computer science

Charlotte, N.C.: Justin Price, intelligence and analysis

Eldorado: Anthony Olivares Esparza, accounting

Garden City: Payton Hastings, kinesiology

Kaplan, La.: Lambert Landry, finance

Kempner: Madyson-Lynn Dake, finance

Lamesa: Harley Merrill, accounting

Midland: Tiffany Vandergriff, teacher education

Van Horn: Anita Hoskins, natural resource management

Seoul, South Korea: Daewon Bae, mathematics

The annual Alpha Chi National Convention previously slated for Albuquerque, N.M., was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, an ASU team consisting of Ian Stark of Comanche, Baxter Krug of De Leon and Madison Briggs of Abilene was able to virtually compete in the interdisciplinary Collaborative Research Competition. Also, ASU member Quang Vinh Nguyen of Binh Duong, Vietnam, was awarded a $1,000 Alpha Chi Scholarship.

ASU is located in Alpha Chi Region I, and Dr. Karl Havlak, College of Science and Engineering, is the head faculty advisor for the ASU chapter. Additional faculty advisors are Dr. June Smith for the College of Arts and Humanities, Dr. Satvir Singh for the Norris-Vincent College of Business, Dr. Charlene Bustos for the College of Education, and Paul Osmanski for the Archer College of Health and Human Services. Havlak is also secretary-treasurer for Region I and secretary of the Alpha Chi National Council.


Dr. Karl Havlak
ASU Logo